NRHEG PUBLIC SCHOOL ISD #2168 BOARD OF EDUCATION ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING Monday, January 4, 2021 at 5:30PM

MINIUTES

- 1. Meeting called to order by Chairman, Rick Schultz, at 5:30PM
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Ceremonial Oath of Office: Dan Schmidt, Terri Engel and Loren Schoenrock
- 4. Roll Call:

Members present:			
Terri Engel	<mark>In-person</mark>	Remote	Absent
JoAnn Maloney	In-person	<mark>Remote</mark>	Absent
Rich Mueller	In-person	<mark>Remote</mark>	Absent Joined Later
Travis Routh	<mark>In-person</mark>	Remote	Absent
Dan Schmidt	<mark>In-person</mark>	Remote	Absent
Loren Schoenrock	<mark>In-person</mark>	Remote	Absent
Rick Schultz	<mark>In-person</mark>	Remote	Absent

5. Approve Agenda: Moved by Dan Schmidt, seconded by Travis Routh to approve the agenda.

Terri Engel— <mark>aye</mark> , nye
Travis Routh— <mark>aye</mark> , nye
Rick Schultz— <mark>aye</mark> , nye

JoAnn Maloney—aye, nye Dan Schmidt—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0. Rich Mueller—ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

6. Election of Board Officers

- **a.** Chair Dan Schmidt nominated Rick Schultz for Chair of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Rick Schultz who was re-elected Board Chair.
- b. Vice-Chair Travis Routh nominated Dan Schmidt for Vice-Chair of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Dan Schmidt who was re-elected Vice-Chair.
- **c.** Clerk Rick Schultz nominated Terri Engel for Clerk of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Terri Engel who was elected Clerk.
- d. Treasurer Rick Schultz nominated Travis Routh for Treasurer of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Travis Routh who was re-elected Treasurer.

Congratulations to our four officers for 2021. Thank you for your service and leadership.

7. Other Business

- a. Assign School Board Committees (Appointed)
 - 1) Chair appointed Travis Routh, JoAnn Maloney and Loren Schoenrock to the finance committee.
 - 2) Chair appointed Dan Schmidt, Rick Schultz and Rich Mueller to the policy committee.

- 3) Chair appointed Travis Routh, Rick Schultz and Terri Engel to the building and grounds committee.
- 4) Chair appointed Rich Mueller, Rick Schultz and Dan Schmidt to the transportation committee.
- 5) Chair appointed Travis Routh, Dan Schmidt and JoAnn Maloney for the school activities committee.
- 6) Chair appointed Travis Routh, Rick Schultz and Loren Schoenrock to the negotiations committee for Paraprofessionals Union.
- 7) Chair appointed Rick Schultz, Terri Engel and JoAnn Maloney to the negotiations committee for the AFSCME Union.
- 8) Chair appointed Dan Schmidt, Rich Mueller and Travis Routh to the negotiations committee for the Certified Staff.
- b. <u>Set the Depositories for 2021</u>: Moved by Rich Mueller, seconded by Travis Routh to approve the official depositories for fiscal 2021; State Bank of New Richland and the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund.

Terri Engel—aye, nyeJoAnn Maloney—aye, nyeRich Mueller—aye, nyeJoined 5:53PMTravis Routh—aye, nyeDan Schmidt—aye, nyeLoren Schoenrock—aye, nyeRick Schultz—aye, nyeMotion carried 7-0.

c. <u>Authorization of Investments/Electronic Funds Transfers 2021</u>: Moved by Loren Schoenrock, seconded by JoAnn Maloney to authorize the Superintendent of Schools to make appropriate investments and electronic fund transfers of district funds.

Terri Engel— <mark>aye</mark> , nye	JoAnn Maloney— <mark>aye</mark> , nye	Rich Mueller— <mark>aye</mark> , nye
Travis Routh— <mark>aye</mark> , nye	Dan Schmidt— <mark>aye</mark> , nye	Loren Schoenrock— <mark>aye</mark> , nye
Rick Schultz— <mark>aye</mark> , nye	Motion carried 7-0.	

d. <u>Set the Official Newspaper for 2021</u>: Moved by Dan Schmidt, seconded by Terri Engel to approve the Star Eagle as the official newspaper for fiscal 2021.

Terri Engel—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Travis Routh—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Rick Schultz—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

JoAnn Maloney—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Dan Schmidt—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Motion carried 7-0. Rich Mueller—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Loren Schoenrock—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

e. <u>Set the Regular Board Meeting Date, Time and Location</u>: Moved by Travis Routh, seconded by Dan Schmidt to set the date and time for the regular board meeting each month to the

third Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. and rotate each meeting between the two school buildings to be held in the media center. The Board meeting schedule at the Elementary School will be January, March, May, July, September, and November. The Board meeting schedule at the Secondary School will be February, April, June, August, October, and December.

Terri Engel—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Travis Routh—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Rick Schultz—<mark>aye</mark>, nye JoAnn Maloney—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Dan Schmidt—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Motion carried 7-0. Rich Mueller—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Loren Schoenrock—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

f. <u>Set Board Member Compensation</u>: Moved by Travis Routh, seconded by Dan Schmidt to approve the board member compensation at \$75 for regular/special meetings and \$125 for a full-day meeting or workshop. Additional compensation: \$200 Chair, \$150 Clerk and \$100 Treasurer.

Terri Engel—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Travis Routh—aye</mark>, nye Rick Schultz—aye, nye JoAnn Maloney—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Dan Schmidt—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Motion carried 7-0. Rich Mueller—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Loren Schoenrock—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

g. School Learning Model Update—Return Secondary to Hybrid Learning January 11 and Move Elementary to In-Person January 18: Moved by Terri Engel, seconded by Loren Schoenrock, to approve administration's plan as presented to return the Secondary School to Hybrid Learning beginning January 11, and move the Elementary School to In-person Learning beginning January 18.

Terri Engel—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Travis Routh—aye, <mark>nye</mark> Rick Schultz—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

h. Winter Activity Update:

JoAnn Maloney—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Dan Schmidt—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Motion carried 6-0. Rich Mueller—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Loren Schoenrock—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

8. Adjournment: Moved by Rich Mueller, seconded by Travis Routh to adjourned the meeting. Meeting adjourned at 7:10PM.

Terri Engel—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Travis Routh—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Rick Schultz—<mark>aye</mark>, nye JoAnn Maloney—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Dan Schmidt—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Motion carried 7-0. Rich Mueller—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Loren Schoenrock—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

Submitted by Terri Engel, Clerk